Welcome back

It's been a while since you last logged in!

We have temporarily disabled internet access to your Heritage Sports account.

Please feel free to call us at 1-800-800-7777 to re-activate your account.

Sorry for the inconvenience,

Heritage Sports Customer Service.

Soccer - 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup

Soccer – 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup

The 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup will be the 10th FIFA Confederations Cup, an international men’s soccer tournament organized by FIFA and celebrated every four years. It will be held in Russia, from June 17th to July 2nd, as a preface to the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Russia was announced as the host on 2010 after the country was awarded the hosting rights. The matches will be played in four different stadiums across four cities: Saint Petersburg, Moscow, Kazan, and Sochi. It will be the first time Russia hosts the tournament, and the third time the Confederations Cup is held in the European continent. As hosts, Russia qualified automatically for the tournament; they will be joined by the six winners of the FIFA confederation championships and the 2014 FIFA World Cup champions, Germany.

Brazil, who won the previous three Confederation Cups (2005, 2009, 2013), failed to qualify (for the first time since 1995). 2015 AFC Asian Cup winners Australia became the first team to qualify from multiple confederations.

Germany and Portugal are battling it out at the top of the outright market and soccer experts make Portugal their pick to win this summer’s Confederations Cup in Russia. Everything points to Portugal as the most settled and consistent of the eight contenders going for glory.

Cristiano Ronaldo leads the way for the Portuguese and he showed he’s still in fine shape with a double in the 3-0 win over Latvia during Friday night’s qualifier. Portugal still have plenty of work to do in order to return to Russia next year. They sit three points behind leaders Switzerland in their World Cup qualification group.

The qualifying campaign will all come down to October’s game to the Swiss. Portugal have claimed all of their seven wins during the 2016/17 season by three or more goals with Andre Silva providing the main attacking support for Ronaldo.

Portugal are far stronger than New Zealand, Russia and Mexico so they are expected to reach the last four with ease, alongside one of Russia and Mexico.

On the other hand, Germany manager Joachim Low selected an inexperienced group. Only six of the team were at Euro 2016 last summer and just three are world champions from the 2014 success in Brazil. Germany’s changes give Chile a chance of topping Group B. The Chilean team has won the Copa America twice in the last three years and they are actually second favorites at 9/4 (3.25) to win the entire competition.

Sign up at Heritagesports.

Get all the latest Betting and Sport News updates on your social media outlets. Find us on both Facebook and Google+!

Categories: Sports